ADOPTED: April 5,1993


Section 1.1

This organization shall be known as The Pawtucketville Citizens Council herein after called “The Council”.

Section 1.2

The term “Pawtucketville” shall be understood to mean that section of the city of Lowell bounded generally as follows:  on the north by the Dracut Town Line; on the east by Beaver Brook; on the south by the Merrimack River; and on the west by the Tyngsboro Town Line.


Section 2.1

The purpose of the Council is to further the well-being and interest of the residents of Pawtucketville and to keep residents apprised of local issues which affect the community of Lowell as a whole.


Section 3.1

Membership in the council shall be open to those residents of Pawtucketville who are of voting age in accordance with the General Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Section 3.2

The council may by vote at any regular meeting give honorary membership to anyone who is not eligible for membership under section 3.1.  Honorary membership entitles that member to a voice, but no vote.

Section 3.3

There shall be an annual membership assessment of five dollars ($5.00) per person or ten dollars ($10.00) per family due in January.  This assessment is payable in advance and covers a calendar year.  Only members who have paid the assessment are entitled to a vote.  Members who are in arrears may be dropped from membership in the Council without notice.

Section 3.4

A newsletter to be published at least quarterly will be provided to current members.


Section 4.1

The officers of the Council shall be: Chairperson, Co-Chairperson, Treasurer and Secretary.  These officers shall perform the duties prescribed by these by-laws and by the parliamentary authority adopted by the Council, the officers shall be elected in January.  Nominations will be taken from the floor.

Section 4.2

The officers shall be elected by secret ballot to serve for one year or until their successors are elected, and their terms of office shall begin at the close of the meeting at which they are elected.

Section 4.3

No member shall hold more than one office at a time.  If there is no candidate for the office of Treasurer, the Treasurer’s function may be performed by either the Co-Chair or the Secretary until a Treasurer is elected.

Section 4.4

Vacancies in office shall be filled by a vote of the Council.

Section 4.5

The Chairperson shall conduct all meetings, appoint all Committees and generally direct the business of the Council.  The Co-Chairperson shall act in the absence of the Chairperson.  The Secretary shall have care and custody of the official minutes of the Council, shall record all motions with their proposers and their votes, and shall be responsible for both outgoing and incoming correspondence for the Council.  The Treasurer shall be the custodian of all funds of the Council and be prepared to give a statement of the condition of the treasury at each meeting.

Section 4.6

Only the officers of the Council or member(s) selected by the officers shall have the authority to speak on behalf of the Council.  As the need arises, the Council may designate a member to act as a spokesperson for a specific issue.

Section 4.7

Any elected officer of the Council who becomes a candidate for public office shall resign from their position.  An officer will be considered an official candidate as soon as nomination papers are certified by the Election Commission.  An officer who resigns their position to run for public office may remain on the executive Board if space is available.


Section 5.1

The officers of the Council and eight (8) members of the Council appointed by the Officers shall constitute the executive board.

Section 5.2

Appointed members of the executive board who are absent from two (2) consecutive executive board meetings without notifying the chairperson and without just cause, will be considered to have resigned and may be replaced by the officers.

Section 5.3

The executive board shall have general supervision of the affairs of the Council between its business meetings.  The board shall be subject to the orders of the Council, and none of its acts shall conflict with action taken by the Council.

Section 5.4

Resignations from the Executive Board should be submitted in writing to the Chairperson.


Section 6.1

The Council shall meet monthly (except July and December) at a place and time designated by the Chairperson.  The regular monthly meeting in January shall be known as the annual meeting.

Section 6.2

Special meetings may be called by the Chairperson.  Upon the written request of five members of the Council, the Chairperson shall call a special meeting.  The purpose of the special meeting shall be stated in the call of the meeting, and no other business may be transacting at such special meeting, except in cases of emergency, to be decided by the officers, at least three days notice shall be given.

Section 6.3

One or more executive board members may participate in executive board meetings by means of a conference telephone or similar communications equipment by which all persons participating in the meeting are able to hear each other at the same time.  Such participation shall constitute presence in person at such meeting.


Section 7.1

Nine (9) voting members of the Council shall constitute a quorum.

Section 7.2

Six (6) members of the executive board shall constitute a quorum for the meetings of the executive board.


Section 8.1

The Chairperson shall appoint committees, from time to time on an Ad Hoc basis as the need arises.

Section 8.2

The chairperson of each committee shall report on the committee’s activities at each regular meeting the Council.


Section 9.1

The rules contained in Robert’s Rules of Order (latest edition) shall govern in all cases to which they are applicable and in which they are not inconsistent with these By-Laws and any special rules of order of the Council.


Section 10.1

These By-Laws may be amended at any regular meeting of the Council by a two-thirds vote of those present and voting provided that the amendment has been submitted in writing at the previous regular meeting.